Wild Rice Soup

I remember my Grandma alway cooking for us when we would visit. Spaghetti, cinnamon rolls, cinnamon twists, fish and chips and of course wild rice soup. I still make the spaghetti recipe every so often and the wild rice soup. I plan on starting the cinnamon rolls soon.

I have been craving the soup for sometime now so here is my  Wild Rice Soup.

Wild Rice Soup

1 medium onion sliced thin

4 ounces of mushrooms sliced thin

3 Tablespoon butter

1/4 cup flour

4 cups chicken stock

1 1/2 cups of cooked wild rice

1 cup half and half

1/4 cup dry sherry

Cook onions, mushrooms and butter until onions become transparent. Add flour and cook for 15 min. Add chicken stock and cook for 10 minutes stirring till smooth. Add rice, cream and sherry. Stir till heated through. garnish with parsley.

I usually double this recipe and even add way more rice.

Leave a Reply

